#### **Health Scrutiny Committee**

Meeting to be held on 14 June 2016

Electoral Division affected: None

# **Constitution, Membership and Terms of Reference of the Committee** (Appendix A refers)

Contact for further information: Wendy Broadley, 07825 584684, Legal and Democratic Services Wendy.broadley@lancashire.gov.uk

# **Executive Summary**

This report sets out the constitution, membership and terms of reference of the Health Scrutiny Committee for the municipal year 2016/17.

#### Recommendation

The Committee is asked to note the report.

# Background

#### i) Constitution and Membership

The Full Council, at its meeting on 26 May 2016, agreed that the Health Scrutiny Committee shall comprise 13 County Councillors (on the basis of 6:5:1:1) and 12 non-voting co-opted members, with each District Council being invited to nominate a representative.

It was also agreed that County Councillor nominations to serve on the Committee should be submitted to the Director of Governance, Finance and Public Services by the respective Political Groups. Accordingly, the membership of the Committee, as confirmed by the Political Group Secretaries and the 12 Lancashire District Councils, is as follows:

# **County Councillors**

M Brindle	D Smith
F Craig-Wilson	Y Motala
G Dowding	B Murray
N Hennessy	M Otter
A James	N Penney
M Iqbal	S Holgate
_	

D Stansfield



Non-voting co-opted members (\* indicates that at the time the agenda published the nominee is yet to be confirmed by the relevant district council)

Burnley Borough Council Councillor Lubna Khan Chorley Borough Council Councillor Hasina Khan Fylde Borough Council Councillor Shirley Green Hyndburn Borough Council Councillor Eammon Higgins Lancaster City Council Pendle Borough Council Councillor Wayne Blackburn Preston City Council Councillor Roy Leeming Councillor Bridget Hilton Ribble Valley Borough Council Councillor Barbara Ashworth Rossendale Borough Council South Ribble Borough Council Councillor Mick Titherington West Lancashire District Council Councillor Gail Hodson Wyre Borough Council Councillor Julie Robinson

The Committee has a steering group made up of the Chair and Deputy Chair of the Health Scrutiny Committee plus two additional members, one each nominated by the Conservative and Liberal Democrat Groups. The principal role of the Steering Group is to manage the agenda of the Committee, with particular reference to its statutory responsibilities in relation to the National Health Service.

#### ii) Terms of Reference

The Terms of Reference of the Committee are set out at Appendix A for information.

Consultations - N/A.

# **Risk Management**

There are no risk management implications arising from this item.

# **Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985**

#### **List of Background Papers**

Paper	Date	Contact/Directorate/Ext
Agenda and minutes of the meeting of Full Council	26 May 2016	Janet Mather, Legal and Democratic Services Ext. 31123
Reason for inclusion in Part II if appropriate		

N/A.